Fully-documented

11 July 2013

Today I received a letter from Migrationsverket granting me Swedish citizenship. Now I am a citizen of Europe! This automatically makes me like ten times more sophisticated. I should probably buy some tighter pants; I can pull it off now that I am a European.

The agency’s website says the current wait to process applications is ten months, but it only took three business days. In July! When nobody in Sweden works! Bizarre! I guess my application was quite straightforward as I meet all the requirements and didn’t have any problematic answers on my application, which wanted to know things like had I been convicted of a crime in Sweden or did I have any outstanding debts.

I applied for Swedish citizenship because it is my right having lived here on my permanent residency permit for three years; because there’s no downside I know of (I retain my American citizenship); so I can go in the shorter and faster passport control lines for EU-passport holders at airports with the rest of my family; and if we move away from the EU and then back again, I won’t have to reapply for any permits. That’s not a bad exchange for having to keep track of an additional passport. Congratulate me on my lifetime of free health care!

12 Responses to “Fully-documented”

  1. Youma Says:

    Congratulations, official fellow swede!

  2. Sara Says:

    I am green with envy. My husband’s nation (in which I have lived a total of more than three years) doesn’t allow dual citizenship, except for children, and I was also a legal resident of South Korea for three years and got nada. So unfair!

  3. Annika Says:

    Congratulations! And yay for dual! I am considering US citizenship but I would never give up my EU citizenship or the tight pants… :-). I suspect that even though I fulfill the requirements, it’ll be a little more complicated to go through the naturalization process on this end though.

  4. Hemborgwife Says:

    This makes me so happy!

  5. a Says:

    Congratulations! Looking forward to pictures of you in the tight pants…

  6. Cloud Says:

    Congrats! When we came back into the US last week (from our vacation to New Zealand, my husband’s home country), the passport guy basically heckled my husband for not getting a US passport. Pretty funny. He also directly asked my 6 year old her name, and who we were, and who the little girl next to her was. She was sooo confused. I was a little choked up by it- glad they do that, sad they have to, and strangely, sad that she’s old enough that I’m going to have to start explaining things like why they have to.

  7. christy Says:

    Yay for free healthcare and tight pants!

    • Robert C. Says:

      But there is no free healthcare here in Sweden. Not even close. It costs 150 kronor ($22) per doctors visit plus another 70-80 kronor ($10-$12) for prescriptions.

      “Free healthcare” was a myth that I also fell victim to when I decided to move from the USA to Sweden.

  8. Alyssa Says:

    Woo Hoo!!!! Congrats to you!!

  9. loulouloves Says:

    Congratulations! Welcome to the gang!

  10. alejna Says:

    Sounds great! You do indeed seem suddenly more sophisticated, and I can’t even see your pants from here.


  11. Wow congratulations!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

