My little girl is growing up.

22 May 2013

Yesterday was a hot day, as far as Swedish springtime goes. I picked up Little Girl from school and asked her about her day. Mostly we speak in English, but occasionally, more and more frequently, she’ll speak Swedish to me. “Det var skitvarmt ute!” she said.

I about had a heart attack: my sweet, shy little six-year-old had just told me that it was “hot as shit outside.” Now, in my head, I knew that in Swedish this expression is very, very mild, that it is even somehow considered acceptable for children. That everybody says it, though I certainly never would. That Little Girl didn’t even know the word “shit” in and of itself in either language or that it was a “bad word.” (She knows there are “bad words” but she doesn’t know what they are, and we don’t use them in front of her.) So I tried to keep my wits about me and not freak the fuck out about her cursing.

“Did you know that means you are saying it is as hot as poop outside but with kind of bad words? I’d rather you not say that word to me. In English it’s a very bad word, actually.”
Little Girl was horrified; she tries to keep all poop talk to the bathroom. “Then we’d better go back in the school and tell the teachers it’s a bad word, because they say it all the time!”

+++

There’s a sweet boy in Little Girl’s class whom she’s known for the last few years and has always had positive commentary about. Today he came up in conversation.

“I have a secret to tell you, but you can’t tell anybody else,” revealed Little Girl.
“Okay, what is it?”
“I really like S. I think he is nice. I try to do nice things for him. Like if he is climbing a tree and his hat falls off, I put it back on him. I l……..” and she looked shyly away.
“Were you going to say you love him?”
“Yes, it is that, but I don’t want to say that.”
Awww…

7 Responses to “My little girl is growing up.”

  1. alejna Says:

    Aww… So sweet!

    Also, you crack me up with your “So I tried to keep my wits about me and not freak the fuck out about her cursing.” Ha!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    LOL to the first part….awwwww to the second. Kind and bittersweet, isn’t it?

  3. Yo-yo Mama Says:

    The pitfulls of bilingualism…

  4. a Says:

    Do you think she’s going to go back to school and suggest that they re-evaluate their expression? I’d like to be a fly on the wall for that conversation!

    My girl had about 3 boys she admired in her class – but one fell out of favor when he didn’t come through with a valentine. I guess he brought a couple for some people, including one of those sticky stretchy hand toys, and told my daughter that he would bring her one, and then he never did. He was OFF THE LIST! Young love – it’s sweet and hilarious…

  5. Alyssa Says:

    This will be a treasured memory for you. How funny and how sweet. My 9 year old son has a crush on a girl in his class. She got mud on her shoes at recess and he got a big stick and cleaned them for her.

  6. Melissa Says:

    Haha! That’s classic about the swearing teachers. And super sweet about her crush. I hate when adults are always assigning boyfriend/girlfriend roles to children but it’s so sweet when it comes from the kids themselves.

  7. Sara Says:

    Laughing about the teachers. I have a congenital pottymouth, and as much as I try not to curse in front of the Egg, I’m pretty sure I do it all of the time. Kindergarten may be very interesting…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

