Paris!

10 February 2013

My mother is visiting from the US and she, Little Girl, and I just got back from a long weekend in Paris! When visiting major cities I am very goal-oriented and, subway map in hand, I run around trying to see All The Things. While I had been to Paris before and checked a bunch off my list already, there were places I wanted Little Girl to see and which she, a fan of the Madeline books, had an interest in (like the Eiffel Tower). And of course there were sights that would be new for both of us.

Little Girl is a great traveler. She likes any form of transportation, and on this trip we did almost all of them: plane, train, taxi, subway, tram, boat, funicular, bus. It’s really fun to travel with her because she pretty much just goes, goes, goes, eager for the next experience.

Loves the metro

Loves the metro

Boat tour of the Seine

Boat tour of the Seine

Planes are her favorite because they keep bringing you food and you get to watch videos!

Planes are her favorite because they keep bringing you food and you get to watch videos

We saw, among many, many other things:

The Louvre

The Louvre

Versailles

Versailles

Arc de Triomphe

Arc de Triomphe

The Eiffel Tower

The Eiffel Tower

She came home talking about all the 4,000-year-old Egyptian household items she found intriguing The Louvre, as well as her plan to set up shop as an artist selling her works along with all the painters at the Place du Tertre, where I bought a terrible charcoal portrait of her (if she were 25 and Barbie). She ate raw oysters and pain au chocolat and escargots and crêpes with Nutella and said “Bonjour” and “Merci” and “Ça va bien” to the people of Paris. She loved the topiaries at Versailles and seeing the Eiffel Tower from different distances, perspectives, lighting, and heights all around the city. She thought the Easter-themed Hermès window display on rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré was awesome and the interior of Sacré-Cœur beautiful—and fascinating due to the presence of real live nuns in habits! Little Girl enjoyed chasing the birds in The Tuileries and checking out the decorations on the bridges crossing the Seine. It’ll be interesting to see which are the enduring memories for her of our visit.

Taken on the Ferris wheel at Place de la Concorde

Taken on the Ferris wheel at Place de la Concorde

I’m not sure yet what the highlights of the trip were for me since we just got back tonight. I still can’t believe how close Europe is when you actually live in it; previously all my experience with trips to Europe involve time disorientation and exhaustion on both sides of the visit, but now it’s so easy*. And coming back to Sweden is increasingly feeling like coming home, if only because this time my husband and baby were waiting for us at the airport. For now I’m basking in seeing Baby Brother again, who managed to learn new things in just three days away: now, instead of waiting for someone to stack blocks so he can knock them down, he’s building his own towers. And his cars now jump off the ground and say “vroom vroom!” But I can’t help but notice how much he looks like a cherub in an 18th century painting, all fat thighs and golden curls, and wonder what he’ll like about traveling, once he gets bigger.

* Nobody looked at our passports even once! And we flew on four flights involving four countries!

photo(35)

7 Responses to “Paris!”

  1. a Says:

    I am so jealous! Sigh – I can’t wait for my girl to be old enough to handle the jet lag. I think she’d be a good traveler – she already does well on long car rides. Looks like a fantastic time!

  2. Mama Minou Says:

    What a wonderful trip, and I am amazed by how adventurous LG is about food and seeing sights and changing routines (I have 2 older boys who are much less accomodating!) I feel a little jealous too. It fans my Travel Envy. One day, hopefully not too many years from now, I will make more travel happen. For now, I love enjoying it vicariously.

    What new place that you’ve never visited would you choose to go to, given the chance?

    • Antropóloga Says:

      I really want to go to Italy and Iceland! Our ten year wedding anniversary is coming up and we will be taking a weekend away, just the two of us, but we’ll probably say closer to home and go to Prague or Copenhagen.

      >________________________________

  3. Sara Says:

    Sounds glorious! My parents made a point of taking us on trips to Europe as young children, and I still have very vivid memories of them. It’s great that you are doing that for LG also.

  4. Melissa Says:

    What an amazing trip! My kids just told me tonight they want to go to another country, but sadly Europe is a bit farther away for us! I’m sure LG will have wonderful memories.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

